top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaquel Fernandez

CHICAGO, CHICAGO!

Updated: Oct 20, 2023

IT HAS BEEN FOREVER!!!

So much has happened since the last time I posted in November 2020!

I'm excited to share a part of my life on the blog again :)

Why Chicago? Aside from it being a major city in the US, it is now home to MY BROTHER, Sam! I planned this little getaway for my fam and me. I was told it's the perfect time to visit the Windy City! The weather was still a little cool on some days, but overall it was great.


It was my second time going to Chicago. My first time was when I was like 4, so I couldn't remember anything except for the roadtrip there. I imagined it would be like New York. When you see pictures shared online about Chicago, most of the time you'll only see pictures of "The Bean," but there is SO MUCH MORE to this beautiful city. It gave me Gotham City vibes, which is huge for a Battinson fan like myself. It was old school and modern all at once. You'll see what I mean when you scroll down to the Architecture River Cruise!


I hope you enjoy my recommendations when you visit!

Let me know what you think under my IG posts or DM me :)



Day 1:

We landed in Chi town and went to my bro's apartment. Then, we went to the Corner Bakery for breakfast. I had to work a half day that day, so I went to work - thankful to work remotely. Once I was done, I tried to take a nap and failed... I got ready for round 2 and went to grab dinner with my family. We walked and walked, got rained on, and then went to Smith & Wollensky!

Cute light display at Starbucks

Of course we had to get a picture with the Chicago Theatre.

(Please excuse the missing photos due to Wix's technical issues)

What I wore:

Shirt: Vici Collection


Leggings: Zaful


Kimono: Nasty Gal

I looove unique looking pieces like this, especially with the pop of teal.

tip: look up discount codes on retailmenot.com - I saved about $40 on my purchase!


Shoes: TJ Maxx

These aren’t my favorite shoes but I had to choose comfort over looks for all the walking this time.


Necklace: Daniel Wellington


We hid in the bus stop area while it rained.

At the Riverwalk






Family selfie minus the new Chicagoan who was at work!

I wore my contacts gifted by DTLEye :)

Smith & Wollensky

This American steakhouse is right by the river! Great views and great steak.

I ordered the Chilean sea bass thinking it would be a light option. I was stuffed for the rest of the day! So worth it.





MILLENIUM PARK'S CLOUD GATE AKA "THE BEAN"

What I wore:

Shirt: Gifted by my bestie, Marilyn


Leggings: Lulu Lemon ;)

Once again, comfort!


Blazer: Vici Collection

I love wearing hot pink - and this blazer is so different. I got the most compliments in person on this look.


Booties: Vici Collection


Handbag: Balenciaga

It was not easy getting pictures with The Bean. It’s nearly impossible to get a pic with no one in the background, but it comes with the territory. I’m sure it’s possible if you get there bright and early. We went around noon on a weekday.



Bean selfie with my baby bro, Danny












Cindy’s Rooftop

Best rooftop view where you can see Lake Michigan and Millenium Park (The Bean). I read about this rooftop thanks to a blog I found on Pinterest. It was on my list, and my dad coincidentally already knew about it and took us there.

The lobby was BEAUTIFUL! This is what I love about Chicago - a city established in 1837. The architecture and design back then were out of this world!










Shopping @ the Magnificent Mile

We didn't do too much shopping because most stores closed at 6 or 7 PM. I did go to Louis Vuitton and my mom convinced me to buy these shades. They remind me of Kris Jenner's classic shades.


The most beautiful Burberry store I've ever seen. It even beats the one in London!


Day 3:

My mom showing off a shirt she got for Mother's Day

Elephant & Castle for lunch

A cute moment my brother captured of my mom and me <3




What I wore:

Shirt: Shein

Jacket: Vici Collection

Leggings: Zaful

Earrings: Monkees boutique

Shoes: Chanel espadrilles

Handbag: Balenciaga



Skydeck @ Willis Tower

(aka Sears Tower)


A picture with the famous Chicago deep dish pizza


Famous people from Chicago!

Views from the top! Skydeck is located on the 103rd floor!



This is “The Ledge” and there are 5 total window ledges. We got ledge #3 which was recently installed. Prior, it was only 4 for a while! We only had 2 minutes to get pictures as a group 😳 #ChicagoSkydeck





Al Capone hat!

PS: Chicago offers a gangster tour.

Fogo de Chao for dinner

Family fit check


What I wore:

Jumper: Vici Collection

Shoes: Vici Collection

Fogo de Chao, Brazilian steakhouse

DAY 4

That's Willis Tower behind me (formerly known as Sears Tower).

It was the tallest building in the world for 25 years. It can be argued that it's the tallest building in the US because if you include the antennas, it is!



Did a photoshoot in anticipation of hitting 500 thousand on TikTok!


What I wore:

Dress: Vici Collection

I’ve had my eye on this dress for a while. When I noticed it was on sale, I jumped on it!

Shoes: TJ Maxx

Once again, comfort!




On the way to get on a ferry for the Architecture Cruise

I bought the tickets on TripAdvisor


The 2 buildings behind me are nicknamed the Corn cobs (Marina City).

They are luxury apartments designed to attract residents to the city. The residents can even park their boats there!

Nail check: Nails by Hiroshi Olmedo - I wanted them to match my blazer from before...

The Fifty/50 for Champions League final

Real Madrid won!!!

A picture with a cool Puerto Rican mural

Architecture River Cruise

The tallest building in the world designed by a woman!


LondonHouse: LH Rooftop

The River Cruise tour guide mentioned that LondonHouse had a rooftop that is ranked 2nd in the US. So, naturally, I had to check it out. It really does have one of the most breathtaking views. It made me feel like I was in a Gossip Girl episode (minus the crowd of people everywhere).



DAY 5:

We got Starbucks for breakfast and then headed to the airport!



What I wore:

Shirt: Cubs cropped shirt I bought on Michigan Ave.


Skirt: Shein


Glasses: LV


Shoes: Chanel espadrilles


Bag: Balenciaga




Congrats to my brother Sam on his big job in the big city! We're so proud of you and can’t wait for our next visit. Thanks for being the best host. We love you!


XOXO,

Raquel aka Rach












bottom of page