top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaquel Fernandez

TikTok Event in L.A.

Updated: Oct 20, 2023

THIS WAS SUCH A FUN TRIP! Throwback to October 6-9, 2022.

I had been to Los Angeles 3 times before, but never for something like this. I received an invite via email in September. I remember the fall vibes were hitting in NC. I was with my husband in the kitchen and fell to my knees when I read the email (dramatic much?). I was SO excited TikTok invited me to L.A. for their Latinx Heritage Month celebration as a member of #CasaTikTok.

It was also a great girls trip with my mom <3


Day 1

I stayed in West Hollywood at the Andaz. It was the perfect spot and had the cutest rooftop! As soon as I arrived, I walked to the nearest clinic to get tested for COVID in order to attend the event. Although I took an at-home test before I flew out, I wanted to be extra safe. I was clear to go and enjoyed the sights, as my mom and I explored WeHo for the first time.

(Please excuse the missing photos due to Wix's technical issues)

Travel outfit details:


Quarter Zip Pullover: Adidas

Leggings: Lulu Lemon

Sneakers: Tori Burch

Handbag: Chanel

Shades: Louis Vuitton



ANDAZ WEST HOLLYWOOD

To see the hotel room tour, and more details from the trip, checkout my

vlog on Youtube:


Outfit details:


Matching set: Shein

Heels: Marc Fisher (Monkee's) Handbag: Gucci







SUR RESTAURANT & LOUNGE

The food exceeded my expectations! Definitely go, especially if you're a fan of Vanderpump Rules!







I totally understand Stassi's obsession with Sur's goat cheese balls now!



DAY 2:

VENICE CANALS AND VENICE BEACH

Just like they said in Clueless, "everywhere in L.A. takes 20 minutes." In this case, it was more like 40 minutes. We took an Uber to the Venice Canals. We were a little lost at first because the canals are basically in the middle of a neighborhood, but we reached our destination!




Outfit details:


Top: Anthropologie

Blazer: Shein

Shorts: Francesca's

Sandals: A New Day (Target)

Necklace: Les Néréides

Handbag: Chanel

Shades: Louis Vuitton






We then walked to Venice Beach, and bought some fruit with chili powder from a local vendor.



IN-N-OUT

Because you can't go to Cali without eating some In-N-Out...



Then, I rushed to the hotel to get ready for the TikTok event.

This sign was right across the street from the hotel so I had to get a picture with it while I waited for my Uber.



In the Uber. I felt fancy in this Tesla :)


As soon as I arrived to Casita del Campo, I bumped into my TikTok friend Fabian and his crew.

We hit the green carpet and I met our Casa TikTok manager, Kayla in person for the first time.

We had talked on Zoom numerous times before during our TikTok courses.




Rare Beauty booth!

We were gifted Rare Beauty goodies and I was featured on their Instagram story!!! I cried happy tears :') Never did I imagine posting on TikTok would lead to this...




Outfit details:

Dress: Monkee's

(it had pockets so I put my mini wallet and phone in each pocket. I didn't want to risk losing my purse)


Shoes: Miss Lola


Story behind the dress:

I went to Monkee's in North Myrtle Beach, SC. If you're a POC, you sometimes experience a different treatment while shopping (i.e. Selena the movie). When I walked in and looked around the store, no one greeted me or anything. Everyone else got a greeting and was told about the store's discounts. I brushed it off and got a fitting room. At the time, I didn't even know I would attend this event. I bought this dress and the skirt I wore in Beverly Hills (below). It's just crazy that when I bought this dress, I thought: "what will I even wear this to?" But I said to myself, "eh I like it, the moment will present itself." And it did! Little do the Monkee's employee's know that their dress was featured on Rare Beauty's Instagram

(check it out on insta: @AbogadaRaquel).

It really felt like a Selena or Pretty Woman moment!

I received so many compliments on the dress and it even complemented the theme!





It was so great to meet my fellow creators, who I had connected with online or seen on my FYP, in person!


PRIVATE CONCERT by Feid and Snow Tha Product

At the time, I didn't know who he was. My fellow creators were sooo excited and I was also looking forward to seeing him perform. Once he started singing I recognized his songs. He was super chill and down to earth!




CasaTikTok goodies

Shout out to Mayra Areli for telling me to grab my goodie bag before the event ended.

The night went by so fast, I almost forgot.

After the event, we went to the Conrad hotel in downtown L.A. to chill in one of the creators' hotel rooms.

I left early to grab dinner with my parents at Pink Taco because my dad flew in to see me. As I was leaving the Conrad, I ended up seeing Bachelor in Paradise reality show contestant, Teddi, when I was getting an Uber in the parking garage! If you know me, you know I roll deep with my Bachelor nation. I had to say hi to her.

The show was still airing and I saw her with her now boyfriend :)




DAY 3

This is the Andaz rooftop! You can see the West Hollywood hills.

P.S. This was actually day 2, and Venice/the Casa TikTok event was on day 3, but the photos flowed better this way ;)


Outfit details:

Top: Forever 21

Skirt: Queen of Sparkles (Monkee's) Heels: Marc Fisher (Monkee's)

Handbag: Chanel

Shades: Louis Vuitton




The Pink Wall

(Paul Smith LA store)

8221 Melrose Ave




This mural was across the street from Paul Smith LA...


The Beverly Hills hotel

I had to visit this iconic hotel. My mom and I loved it!!!

The Kardashians hosted Kris Jenner's birthday lunch at this hotel and it def had that Kardashian vibe.




She slays, all dayyy!!!

I visited Urth Cafe because of Entourage! It was decent, nothing lives up to Sur!


Shopping on Rodeo Drive

This is the Louis Vuitton rooftop! At first, I didn't know if we were allowed to go out there, but thankfully we decided to check it out and realized it was open to customers. It was such a pretty view of the area!




I'm so thankful to have experienced this trip with my mom. She is one of my biggest supporters and motivators. I simply wouldn't be where I am without her!

Thanks for tuning in! Also, if you support my social media career, THANK YOU!

This wouldn't have been possible without YOU! Thank you for every message, comment, like, and share. Thank you for congratulating me when I reach a new milestone.

It really does motivate me to keep going. I can't wait to show you the best of Miami at the

"Casa TikTok on Tour" event in next week's blogpost.


XO,

Raquel

bottom of page